Buffalo Chicken…Everything

As promised, my contribution to the Super Bowl spread was a cheesy, bubbly, buffalo chicken-y, buffalo chicken dip. It’s a delicious blend of shredded chicken, lots of buffalo sauce, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, and blue cheese dressing. In other words, clean, healthy, low fat ingredients! I baked it in the oven right before we went over to my friends house (who fortunately lives a half a block away) and on the way over we were told by multiple people on the street that it smelled delicious.

Once at the party it was met with similar seals of approval.  Right as the last nail was driven in the Steelers’ coffin, the last bit of dip was scooped up with a Ritz cracker. There’s just something about that buffalo sauce that makes people go crazy. While wings are usually a popular go-to buffalo treat for game day, I find the dip to be much more female friendly. Why? Well, I hate eating wings at a party. They get all over my face and hands and while they are magically delicious they are just too messy. But with the dip, you get all the flavor and none of the mess!

After the overwhelming success of both my buffalo chicken dip and buffalo chicken meatloaf, I got to thinking, what else could I douse in Franks Red Hot Sauce? A few months ago, I made buffalo chicken mac’ and cheese for Matt’s birthday party and it was a huge hit. So, I did some research and you would not believe all the recipes out there that call for spicy, saucy chicken. There’s your standard buff chick cheesesteak, salad, sandwich, pizza, wrap, and burger. There’s my last blog post, buffalo chicken meatloaf. But as I dug deeper, the dishes got wackier…buffalo chicken soup? Chili? Oh yes, and the list went on…buffalo chicken pot pie, potato skins, and lasagna! The possibilities are endless and I can’t wait to try them all. Although I might be waiting a little while, considering I’ve gone through two bottles of hot sauce in 5 days…moderation was never my strong suit.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Ingredients

2 10 oz. cans of chicken, drained

1 1/2 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce (or less if you want to turn down the heat)

2 8 oz. tubs cream cheese

1 cup blue cheese dressing

12 oz shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

In a sauce pan combine the chicken and sauce and shred the chicken with two forks, let simmer until heated through. Stir in the cream cheese, blue cheese dressing, and half of the cheddar cheese. Spoon mixture into a pyrex pan, top with remaining cheese, bake on 350 for a half hour until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Leave a Reply

