Too Tired To Cook?

Soo…I realize that my blog has been sort of sporadic lately. I started a new job a couple of weeks ago and I love it so much, I’m constantly working and barely ever have time to blog! Also, most of my meals in the past week haven’t been exactly “blog worthy.” (Take out, lean cuisines, leftovers, and more takeout.) But tonight I was inspired to cook a healthy, satisfying meal and put an end to my week of take out. However, since I woke up at 5 a.m. today and I can barely keep my eyes open right now, I wanted to cook something that would require very little time spent in the kitchen (and even less time spent actually standing up…I’m that tired). But I still wanted it to be mega delicious! So children, how do we get tons of flavor without having to stand over a dish and build and build layers of flavor? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? If you said MARINATE IT you’ve just won a hundred Elizabeth bucks! Congratulations you can redeem them for a free dinner in my kitchen! Marinating protein is easy, effective, and bonus – I can sit down while doing it! So I settled on one of my favorite protein/marinade combos, Ahi tuna steaks and Soy Vay marinade. Lets start with the tuna. Now, you might be thinking to yourself, “Oooo Ahi tuna…fancy! Expensive!” Well not really, for around the price of a piece of chicken, you can get a lovely pre-portioned Ahi tuna steak right in your grocer’s freezer! Just run it under some cold water for about 20 minutes to defrost and presto, you’ve got a lovely piece of fish ready to marinate and cook.

Now, onto the marinade, my roommate in college introduced me to this terriyaki based marinade made by an Asian/Jewish husband and wife combo (hence the name Soy Vay..get it? Get it?). I came home one night to the most magnificent smell wafting through our apartment. She had simply marinated a piece of chicken in this glorious concoction and stuck it in the oven. The result was the most delicious thing to ever come out of a bottle. I know some foodies out there might be judging my use of a pre-packaged marinade, but try it and believe me, you’ll be eating your words. So after about a half hour of hanging out in the marinade, I seared my steaks for just about 3 minutes on either side. You want the middle to still be completely pink. Don’t worry it’s sushi grade tuna, you can eat it raw.

Then it was onto the meal accompaniments. I decided to go for light and simple, so I picked up a julienned broccoli salad at the store. Yes, I could have just bought the veggies, and used a mandolin to prep them myself, but I don’t know if I mentioned this already…but, I’m REALLY tired. I tossed the salad with a little soy ginger vinaigrette that took me about 15 seconds to make (just whisk together 3 tbsp. soy sauce and 1 tsp. of ginger). And there you have it, a beautiful meal made with only about 6 minutes of actual standing time. That’s pure genius if you ask me.

Coming up next…This weekend Matt’s friends are coming to town and it’s shaping up to be quite the culinary extravaganza. Friday night we will be having dinner at…a little restaurant…not sure if you’ve heard of it…but Zagat has rated it as the best steakhouse for 26 years in a row.  Yea, um, it’s basically meat mecca…that’s right, none other than Peter Lugger Steakhouse. In the words of the Jersey Shore boys (who I stayed up to watch) “YEAAA BUDDY.” I’ve wanted to go to Peter Lugger since I was…oh I don’t know…six maybe? Words can not describe my excitement and giddy anticipation. Then, on Saturday I will be cooking a big fat Italian style feast. I thought I’d lay out the menu because I know that a few of the attendees are loyal readers. One of them even created a spin-off to my blog entitled “What’s Minnella Eating Now.” It chronicles what my boyfriend is eating after ever blog post I write…because it’s safe to say, if I’m cooking it, Matt’s eating it. Here’s the menu…can’t wait for dinner boys!

Appetizers

Antipasti Platter

Flatbread Pizza

Entrees

Penne a la Vodka

Three cheese Lasagna

Sausage and Peppers

Dessert

Tiramisu (homemade of course…even the lady fingers)

2 thoughts on “Too Tired To Cook?

Leave a Reply

