FISH…FISH! FISH! FISH! FISH!

The inspiration for today’s blog post title comes from a children’s story my mom wrote one afternoon when she fell asleep in the hammock and awoke with a tale about my little sister wanting to go fishing and expressing this by answering every question with FISH…FISH! FISH! FISH! FISH! (Seriously, I can’t make this stuff up.) My brother swears she must have taken a hit of acid before dosing off under the early autumn sun. Whether that’s true or not, ever since that fateful day, whenever we would have fish for dinner, one Malinowski would always, without fail, exclaim…FISH…FISH! FISH! FISH! FISH!

Anyyyywayy…I’ve been trying to do the whole “eat seafood twice a week” thing, in hopes of counteracting the damage done by my chardonnay habit. (Hey, a girl can dream, right?) So, my way to work seafood into my diet this week came in the form of FISH TACOS! Yum! Talapia was on sale at the grocery store, so that served as the flaky white fish base. Usually fish tacos are topped with a Mexican crema or a mango salsa, but I think it should be illegal to make tacos without guacamole, so I made my standard recipe, but swapped the regular tomatoes with some lovely grape heirlooms. They were fantastic and added such nice flavor and color to the guac! I didn’t even know that heirlooms came in a mini size! I just love the vegetable aisle, it got me all excited for the weather to be warm enough to go to the farmers market and all the magically delicious recipes it will inspire. Just you wait people…just you wait.

So back to the meal. In addition to the guac, the tacos got toppped with some shredded cabbage and thinly sliced onions. It was a really nice, light, guilt free way to eat mexican! No sour cream, no oil, no cheese, just a little healthy fat from avocado and boom! Who knows all this healthy seafood might inspire me to curb the wine habit…alright, who am I kidding, that’s never gonna happen.

Leave a Reply

