The Royal Wedding Watch Party

So I know that you must have been on the edge of your seat all week wondering how the Royal Wedding Watch Party went. Well, let me tell you…it was frickin’ fabulous. After a full day of seeing little snippets, the ceremony and the precession and the kiss(es!), I couldn’t wait to get home, set out all of my adorable food, gather around the TV with all of my girls and watch this once in a lifetime event unfold. Before I get into the party, here’s my little take on all things Royal Wedding. The dress was amazing, although it was a little understated for my taste. I wanted a bit more drama, but I think she looked absolutely stunning. I mean, come on, could she be any more beautiful? The ceremony was so pretty and yes, I cried when they said their vows. Oh, and let’s not forget the not one, but TWO kisses! (A royal first.) It was everything I wanted it to be and more. And I will fully admit that I spent a good hour the next day googling “royal wedding lip reading” to find out all the sweet nothings they were whispering to each other throughout the day. My favorite one was when Kate walked down the aisle, William turned to her and said “you’re beautiful.” I died. Oh, and you can’t have a Royal Wedding Recap without talking about Kate’s sister, Pippa Middleton. All I’m going to say is this, Amy if you look that hot on my wedding day I’ll kill you. Just kidding…kinda.

So back to the party. After work, I picked up some champagne, made some crustless sandwiches, donned a tiara and waited for my guests to arrive. They were greeted with strawberry champagne cocktails, candy rings, and 12 hours of DVR’d wedding footage. The menu was adorable if I do say so myself. For the cocktails, I made a really simple strawberry puree (just slice and puree until slightly chunky) that I added to the champagne to turn it pink and give it a little something special. And thanks to my friend Shannon, who studied in London, we all were introduced to the wonderful world of Pimms. Pimms is a dark brown British liquor, which when added to some ice cold Sprite is the most refreshing, not too sweet, not to tart, absolutely perfect cocktail. And let me tell you it goes down easy…so pace yourself.

Now, before I get into the food, I need to gush over my fabulous new servring pieces. Over Easter weekend, I hit Pier One and The Christmas Tree Shop and I hit them hard. The Easter Bunny (aka Matt’s mom and grandma) filled by basket with some fabulous ktichware that took this party from cute to over the top adorable. There was the cake stand, the mini soup shooter cups with individual little spoons, my new trendy square plates, and cute little dishes from the Pier One “Tasting” series. I have to be honest, I structured the menu  so I’d be able to use all of my new pieces.

The full menu is below, but the standout of the evening was something that I didn’t even cook. Some genius human invented this insane dessert that has come to be known as cake pops. Its crumbled cake and icing rolled into a ball and dipped into melted chocolate, which then hardens into a candy coated shell. And when you eat one your life is totally complete. I had these fantastic cake pops from Kreated by Kristen at an NYMag event, and ever since then I’ve been looking for an excuse to order them. In the days leading up to the party I was arguably more excited for the cake pops then I was for the wedding. I’ve had cake pops made by others, but I’m convinced that Ms. Kristen puts some sort of illegal addictive ingredient in them, because honestly, you can not. stop. eating them.

Here’s the rest of the royal menu

Turkey, Sliced Apple and Alouette Sandwiches

Ham, Brie, and Orange Marmalade Sandwiches

Cucumber, Cream Cheese, and Dill Sandwiches

Mesclun Greens with Walnuts, Gorgonzola Cheese, Dried Cranberries, and Cherry Tomatoes with a White Balsmaic Vinagarette

Spinach, Artichoke, and Gouda Quiche

Creamy Tomato Soup Shooters with Crispy Prosciutto

Assorted Dips and Crackers

White Chocolate Almonds

Dark Chocolate Cranberries

Buttercup Bake Shop Cupcakes

Kreated by Kristen Cake Pops

Recipes

I think they’re all pretty self explanatory, besides the quiche

Spinach and Artichoke Quiche

Ingredients

5 eggs

1/4 cup of milk

10 oz. frozen spinach

1 can of artichoke, chopped

4 oz. shredded gouda

Frozen pie crust

Directions

In a bowl beat eggs and milk. Added the defrosted spinach, artichoke, and gouda. Pour into frozen pie crust shell. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

One thought on “The Royal Wedding Watch Party

  1. Table setting and dishes look great. Sounds like you girls had a great time! (I admit, I was also interested in the whisperings and love the devlish Harry.)

Leave a Reply

