The Blog Binge

I’ve been starving the blog for over a week. What can I say? Birthdays, vacations, and life gets in the way. But I hope you’re all ready ’cause we’re about to go on a BLOG BINGE. So buckle up, its going to be a delicious ride. The theme of this blog is going to be kind of like a “garbage salad” or a “kitchen sink omelet.” These dishes combine all the ingredients you have in your fridge and pantry, whether they go together or not, to make one big delicious concoction.  You see sometimes in my eating and cooking adventures, I make or eat something that’s totally blog worthy, but for whatever reason (Real Housewives is on, or I have work to do, or Real Housewives is on) it doesn’t make it into the blog…until now. So I’ve gone through my phone and camera to bring you all the great things that got left behind. Get excited people, this is going to be better than an episode of “The Real Houswives: Lost Footage.”

Where to start…well, Tuesday night was my birfday, I am now officially old. To help ease the pain of aging, Matt took me to a restaurant where I’ve been DYING to go for months, none other than The Stanton Social. I’d describe it as trendy comfort food served tapas style. Kobe beef Philly Cheesesteak sliders with truffle oil and goat cheese. Chorizo mac ‘n’ cheese. Mini Beef Wellington with foie gras mousse. I literally wanted to die after every single bite. Oh, and they had my fave wine, Morro Bay Chardonnay. But the best part…well, other than spending my birthday with my favorite person…the french.onion.soup.dumplings. I know I say this a lot, but my description wont do it justice. Just go and go now.

Now, onto some weeknight meals. Even if you only have a few minutes, everyone, and I mean everyone, can throw together these last minute weeknight meals. So the next time you’re tempted to just give up and order Seamless (for non-NYers that’s how we order takeout) do yourself a favor and cook up one of these recipes. Like Mesclun greens with grilled chicken and honey balsamic vinaigrette.

 Gorgonzola Cheese Meatloaf, Mashed Cauliflower, Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Steamed Salmon with Rosemary, Lemon, and Capers. Sauteed Spinach and Roasted Corn

Over the weekend my friends and I took a little girls trip down to Miami. When I wasn’t sleeping by the pool, I was EATING. Here are two of the standouts.

Deep Dish Breakfast Pizza with Sopressatta at The Front Porch Cafe

Braised Lamb Shank over Orzo at Opa

The weekend before we went to Miami, all of my friends and I made a pilgrimage to the movies to see one of our favorite books come to life on the Silver Screen. Something Borrowed was amazing and so was the pre-theatre meal at Banc. Two words: sampler platter.

Tuna Tare Tare, Meatballs, Lobster Mac and Cheese, White Wine Musceles

Ok…what else we got here? A few weeks ago, Matt and I celebrated our anniversary at Locande Verde. I wanted to go there because the critics have raved about it. Matt wanted to go there because Robert Deniro is a partner and he was hoping for a celebrity sighting. The food definitely lived up to the hype. It was perfect neighborhood Italian food, with an upscale twist. Orecchiette with duck sausage? Well done Robert, well done.

Further proof that I go out to dinner way too much. Here’s a little melange of some outstanding dishes I’ve had in the past month or two.

Mac and Cheese Pizza at Krunch Pizza…this shouldn’t be legal.

Veal Parmigiana at Il Vagabondo. After you demolish this ridiculously cheesy piece of meat you can go play Bocce Ball on their old school court.

The Ultimate Breakfast Sandwich (or T.U.B.S.) at Ted’s Bulletin in D.C. Say it with me…hangover cure.

Grilled Prawns and a ridiculously large drink for a Wednesday night at The Hurricane Club. Think Gilligans Island meets a trendy club in the Meatpacking District.

I know that was a lot to handle. But I didn’t want all those pictures, recipes, and amazing food experiences to end up on the Island of Misfit Blog Posts…that would just be so sad.

Meatloaf and salmon recipes to come tomorrow – I swear. It’s just that the blog binge really took it out of me and I must sleep now.

One thought on “The Blog Binge

Leave a Reply

