Grillin’ Up Some STEAK

Why steak? Well my mind’s already in Memorial Day weekend mode and I have visions of BBQ-d deliciousness dancing in my head. That coupled with the fact that when I was at the butcher today I could literally hear the porterhouse steak speaking to me.

“Buy meeee Liz….” he said.

“No porterhouse your price per pound is ridiculous to spend on a non-special occasion, regular old, Wednesday night meal”

“But I’m so large that you could that you could split me over the course of two nights and stretch a buck”

“Even if I did that, its STILL over my protein budget”

“But look at my marbling, come on, I’m two steaks in one!”

“Yes I know you come with fantastic marbling and both a filet and a strip steak on the bone which makes for extra juicy depth of flavor from the strip steak and perfect tenderness from the filet…but I can’t ”

“Yes you can…”

I think we all know how this ended. So I decided I’d give into to my grilling urges and despite living in a Manhattan apartment where grills on fire escapes and terraces are STRICKLY forbidden, I still found a way to grill up a perfect porterhouse. (By the way I have a sneaking suspicion that by summers end I will have tried and failed to put a mini grill on my fire escape…stay tuned…) But for now I have my kick ass cast iron grill pan. You might recognize her (yes it’s a her, I figured I made the porterhouse a boy so the grill pan should be a girl, cause in a few sentences you’re going to see them fall in love) from previous posts. She’s my little helper in the kitchen. Matt’s mom got her for me for…absolutely no reason…it was the best present I’ve ever gotten. We went back to Jersey one weekend and Mrs. M was just like “oh, hey, I saw this  cast iron grill pan and got it for you”…I almost cried.

So take an enormous steak…the more it resembles the piece of meat that flipped The Flinstones’ car, the better. Rub it with olive oil and liberally season with salt and pepper.

Preheat a cast iron grill pan (or any heavy duty frying pan) for a LONGGG time…get this puppy seriously scorching.

Add the steak, sear it for 2-3 minutes and then rotate it 90 degrees…that’s how you get those perfect grill marks. Repeat on the other side. Let rest for about 10 minutes so the juices redistribute

Plate with some veggies and potatoes. EAT IT and don’t feel guilty about the price per pound.

Recipes

For the veggies I made roasted vegetable Napoleons. Slice baby eggplant, zuchinni, and yellow squash, toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Stack, skewer with a toothpick. Roast in a 450 degree oven for 20 minutes

For the fingerling potatoes. I love these little baby potatoes because they cook fast, have slightly sweet taste, and they remind me of my mom. I know it’s weird, but she loves these and we’d always buy them at the farmers market in the summer. Simply toss them in olive oil, salt, and pepper and roast in a 450 degree oven for 20 minutes…hmm sounds familiar.

One thought on “Grillin’ Up Some STEAK

  1. The minute I saw the picture, I was wondering how you got the perfect criss-cross grill marks (knowing I’ve never done that). Now I know the secret…thanks!
    Looks like a delicious meal; I’ll be craving it until I make something similar. Enjoy the long weekend!

Leave a Reply

