29 Minute Meals

Remember me? You’re favorite foodie blogger. I know I’ve been gone for awhile and I wish I had a cool reason like I was on an African safari or surfing in Hawaii, but I’ve been working, sleeping, cooking, and neglecting my loyal readers (namely my aunt and grandma who gave me a stern talking to this weekend about the lack of updates.) To make it up to you guys I’ve revamped the blog with a new theme, new links, and not one but TWO new posts. So let’s begin. It seems that although June is home to the longest days of the year, I’ve found myself having less and less time lately. Which is why I’ve been churning out lots of 29 minute meals this month. What’s a 29 minute meal you ask? Well, it’s a BETTER version of Rachel Ray’s 30 minute meal promise, because well…it saves you a full minute! I mean come on, you’re in the bookstore and see Ray Ray’s 30 minute meals cookbook next to my 29 minute meals cook book, who would you choose??…That’s what I thought.

Teriyaki Salmon with Cous Cous and Arugula Salad

Ingredients

2 salmon steaks

Soy Vey Marinade

1 box of cous cous

Pine nuts, cranberries, feta cheese

Arugula

Shaved Parmesea

Balsamic vinaigrette

Olive Oil

Directions

Marinate the salmon steaks for 15 minutes. Meanwhile place a cast iron pan under the broiler and heat for 5 minutes until the pan is very very hot.

While the pan is heating, cook the cous cous according to the package instructions and stir in some accompaniments to jazz it up a bit! For the salad, toss the arugula and shaved parmesan and drizzle with the balsamic and olive oil for a simple, flavorful, and peppery salad.

Remove the pan from under the broiler, grease with non stick cooking spray. Place the salmon skin side down on the hot pan and return to the broiler. Cook for 5 to 7 minutes until fish is light pink and flaky.

Chicken Sausage and Peppers

Ingredients

1 package of Italian-Style chicken sausage

1 green bell pepper sliced

1/2 onion sliced

Mesclun or Arugula Salad

Directions

Heat a non-stick pan over high heat. Slice the chicken sausage length-wise and saute with peppers and onions. Rotate until the sausage is cooked through and the onions are translucent. Serve with an easy salad and enjoy!

Lamb Burgers with Greek Salad

These took me about 30 minutes since I had some help from Matt on the accompaniments, but if you cut out the tricky side sauces it could be done in 29 flat! I swapped out a traditional bun for pita bread, to make it lighter and Greek-er (is that a word?) Serve with a big greek salad topped with tomatoes, onions, pepperoncini, olives, feta, and cucumbers

 

 

 

Chicken Parm over Spinach

So simple, but so delicious, and bonus, it’s healthy! There’s a great Italian restaurant in Matt’s town that will let you put any of their pasta dishes over spinach, and let me tell you if the dish is good enough you don’t miss the pasta. Spring for the already pounded out chicken breasts at the grocery store, it will save you a good 5 to 10 minutes. Also, I use jarred sauce in this recipe, please don’t judge, I’m a working girl and sometimes I need some timesavers.

Ingredients

1 lb. thinly sliced chicken breast

2 eggs beaten

1 cup bread crumbs

1 jar of tomato basil sauce

8 oz. shredded mozzarella

10 oz. frozen spinach

Diced onion and garlic

Directions

Dredge the chicken in egg wash, dip in breadcrumbs. Heat olive oil in a skillet, fry the chicken breasts on medium heat for 8 minutes on each side. Top with the tomato sauce and sprinkle with the cheese. Melt under the broiler for 5 minutes. As the chicken cooks, saute the onion, garlic, and defrosted spinach. Place the chicken parm on a big mound of spinach and top with shredded parmesan.

2 thoughts on “29 Minute Meals

Leave a Reply

